Elton John Yellow Brick (1973 2017) [FLAC] [FANEDIT] torrent download locations

Torrent contents

Size: 307.49 MB

Hash: 53F45DB19BF68EF4A1E5CB24BB1AA8E487641841

Torrent description(s)

  • Demonoid
Elton John’s Goodbye Yellow Brick Road is the classic case of a double album which would have made an excellent single. Despite being his second release of 1973, it features many classic songs which firmly cemented his legacy (Candle In The Wind, Saturday Night’s Alright For Fighting, Goodbye Yellow Brick Road, Bennie And The Jets) and several other notable tracks. Unfortunately, Goodbye Yellow Brick Road contains about the same amount of filler and songs you probably never listen to (Jamaica Jerk-Off, Dirty Little Girl, Roy Rogers). The good parts would have almost certainly earned top ratings while everything else is forgettable, so what would that single album have looked like?

Yellow Brick imagines just such a single CD. Granted it probably would have kept the original sequence, but what fun is that? 9 of the 17 tracks were rearranged into an LP order. Having two somewhat unequal sides probably wouldn’t have happened either, but this arrangement nevertheless seemed best. Saturday Night was rescued from its deep original slotting and moved up top, while Funeral For A Friend (Love Lies Bleeding) found a new home at the beginning of side two and is now tracked separately. Candle In The Wind and Bennie And The Jets kept their original positions, but there wasn’t a better spot for them. The new album runs for 46 minutes (down from the original’s 76), and is now mercifully free from excess. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road was where Elton started indulging a glitzy persona, but the songs’ strength can’t really be denied. Some editing could have produced his strongest and most consistent album, but it was not to be. Thankfully, we can at least glimpse a theoretically possible release.

Track listing:

1. Saturday Night's Alright For Fighting
2. Candle In The Wind
3. Bennie And The Jets
4. I've Seen That Movie Too
5. Funeral For A Friend
6. Love Lies Bleeding
7. Grey Seal
8. All The Girls Love Alice
9. Harmony
10. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road

Total time: 46:04

Related torrents